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School Immunization Requirement FAQs 
Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH) 

2008-2009 School Year 
 
 

1. Are immunizations required for all children enrolled in school? 
A.   Yes. Students in all grades are required to meet the minimum immunization requirements 

as described on the document “MINIMUM IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 
SCHOOL ENTRY 2008-2009.” Immunization requirements extend to children ages 3 
through 5 attending special education programs, child care, or preschool within the 
school. 

 
2. Do schools provide summary reports to ISDH on the immunization status of students in 

all grades? 
A.   While all students enrolled in school are required to be up-to-date on all required 

immunizations, schools only provide summary data to ISDH on students enrolled in 
kindergarten, first, and sixth grades at this time. 

 
3. Do schools need to report immunization data for 6th grade Hepatitis B and Varicella 

immunizations? 
A. No. 
 

4. Is there a deadline for reporting school immunization data? 
A. Yes, the deadline for reporting school immunization data is November 1st. 
 

5. Why does the Quick Reference Guide indicate immunizations for all grades if we only 
need to report kindergarten, first, and sixth grades? 

A. While reporting is only required for kindergarten, first, and sixth grades, schools are 
required by law (IC 20-34-4-2) to ensure that all students have received all immunizations 
required by the Indiana State Department of Health. 

 
6. Does the Indiana State Department of Health determine if a child is excluded from 

school? 
A. No, school exclusion is determined by the school according to IC 20-34-4-5. 
 

7. What information must be included on the physician’s statement to document 
immunization? 

A. The statement must include the student’s date of birth and the date of each 
immunization. 
 

8. What immunization education materials must be provided to the parents of enrolled 
students? 

A. Meningococcal disease—all grades; Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Infection—6th grade 
girls. 

 
9. Are schools required to collect the response form included with the Human 

Papillomavirus (HPV) Infection educational materials? 
A. Yes. Schools are required to collect HPV response forms from parents of sixth grade 

girls. However, forms should not include the student’s name and should not be returned 
to ISDH. Schools will complete a summary report of responses received from HPV forms 
and submit the report to ISDH along with the other immunization reports. 
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10. What is the four-day grace period and when can it be used? 
A. CDC and ACIP allow a 4-day grace period. If a vaccine is given up to 4 days before the 

minimum recommended age for administration of the vaccine, it can be counted as valid. 
However, this does not change the recommended schedule for routine vaccine 
administration. 

 
11. Why are only 3 doses of DTaP/DT/Td required for second grade and above when 5 are 

required for first grade? 
A. DTaP/DTP/DT are licensed for children 6 years of age and younger. Td is used for 

children 7 years and above. If a child presents for vaccination for the first time at 7 years 
of age, only three doses of Td are required to bring that child up to date. Because of this, 
the school can only hold the child responsible for the minimum requirement (3 Td). 

 
 9.   What are the age and interval requirements for a valid fourth dose of DTaP/DT? 

A.      The fourth dose must be given at age 12 months or older to be valid, and it must be 
given at least 6 months after the previous (3rd) dose. 

 
10.  When are only 3 doses of Polio vaccine required? 

  A.    Three doses of all OPV or all IPV are acceptable if the third dose was given on or after  
          the child’s fourth birthday. 
 

11. When are 4 doses of Polio vaccine required? 
A.   Four doses of polio are considered a complete series. When any combination of IPV and  

OPV is used, then 4 doses are required by 4-6 years of age, regardless of age when 
administered. The only exception is the one above where three doses are acceptable if the 
third dose was given after the 4th birthday and only one type of vaccine was used. 

 
12. Must the fourth dose of Polio vaccine be given on or after the fourth birthday? 

A.   No. According to the Pink Book, “If a child receives both types of vaccine, four doses of any  
       combination of IPV or OPV by age 4-5 years of age is considered complete.” 

 
13. If a child has received 4 doses of Polio vaccine before the age of 4 is the series 

complete? 
A.   Yes. If a child has 4 doses of polio vaccine before the age of 4 and the minimum intervals     
       are met (4 weeks between doses), then the series is complete. 

 
14. What are the minimum intervals for Hepatitis B vaccine? 

A.  The minimum intervals between vaccine doses are: 
i. Dose 1 and 2 is 4 weeks (28 days) 
ii. Dose 2 and 3 is 8 weeks (56 days) 

Note: The 3rd dose of Hepatitis B vaccine should be administered at age 24 
weeks (164 days) or later and at least 16 weeks after the 1st dose was given. 

 
15. If there is an extended interval between doses of Hepatitis B, does the student need to     
      start over with the series or have additional doses of the vaccine? 

A. No.  Hepatitis B should never be restarted or additional doses given due to an extended  
             interval between doses.  The student should just complete the series with the remaining 

      dose(s) due.  
 

16. What must be included in a child’s immunization record? 
A. The record must contain the child’s name, date of birth, and a date for each immunization 

(month/day/year). Month and year are acceptable if it documents that the vaccine was 
given at the appropriate age. 
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17. What is considered adequate documentation of an immunization history? 
A. Adequate documentation is as follows: a physician’s written documentation, an 

immunization record from another school corporation, or a record maintained by the parent. 
This documentation must include the month and year during which each dose of vaccine 
was administered. [Month/day/year are recommended, but by rule 410 IAC 1-1-4, month 
and year is acceptable.] 

 
18. What is the minimum age for MMR vaccine to be counted as a valid dose? 

A. For the MMR to be counted as a valid dose, it must have been given on or after the first 
birthday; thus, documentation for this vaccine must contain month/day/year (exception: 4-
day grace period). 

 
19. May a chiropractor give a medical exemption for vaccination? 

A. No. Only a licensed physician (M.D. or D.O.) can provide a medical exemption. A nurse 
practitioner or a physician’s assistant under a physician’s supervision can also give a 
medical exemption. 

 
20. What must a medical exemption contain? 

A. A physician’s certification that a particular immunization is detrimental to the child’s health. 
It must be in writing and must be resubmitted to the school each year. 

 
21. What must a religious objection contain? 

A. A religious objection must be in writing and state that the objection to immunization is 
based on religious grounds; signed by the child’s parent; and delivered to the school. 
There is no requirement of proof. The written objection must be resubmitted to the 
school each year. 

 
22. Is there a philosophical objection allowed in Indiana? 

A. No. There are only two exemptions allowed: religious and medical. 
 

23. If a child does not present an immunization record or is not up to date with his/her 
immunizations, may they enroll in school? 

A. Yes. The Indiana Code (IC 20-34-4-5) states that a child is not permitted to attend 
school beyond the first day without furnishing a written record, unless 

i. The school gives a waiver (for a period not to exceed 20 days); or 
ii. The local health department or a physician determines that the child’s 

immunizations have been delayed due to extreme circumstances and that the 
required immunizations will not be completed by the first day of school. The 
parent must furnish a written statement and a time schedule approved by a 
physician or health department; or 

iii. A medical or religious exemption is on file. 
Note: Some flexibility should be allowed if a student is in the process of obtaining the 
immunizations needed. 

 
24. Is a doctor’s statement required as proof of chickenpox disease? 

A. No, documentation from a parent is sufficient. A written statement that includes date of 
disease, a parent’s signature, and date of signature. Example: If a parent cannot recall 
exact dates, something as simple as stating that disease occurred in the spring of 2000 
is acceptable. 

 
25. Is a second dose of varicella required? 

A. A second dose of varicella will not be required this year; however, it is highly 
recommended. 
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26. For which vaccine requirements are laboratory evidence of immunity not acceptable? 
A. Laboratory evidence is not acceptable for Pertussis. It is acceptable for all other 

required antigens. 
 

27. Do I count as complete those children who have documented laboratory evidence of 
immunity or a written physician’s statement showing history of disease? 

A. Yes, with the exception of Rubella or Pertussis when a statement of disease is not 
acceptable. 

 
28. If a child has an exemption on file, may he/she be counted as complete? 

A. No. If a child has an exemption on file for any immunization, he/she cannot be 
considered complete on immunizations even if all other immunizations for which no 
exemption exists are complete. 

 
 
 
 
 
Additional questions can be directed to the Immunization Program at (800) 701-0704. 


